Formal Wear of Melbourne

Rating
1 5 4.2 (63 reviews) 
Service Area
Melbourne
Business Hours
7 Days
Phone
03 9885 1727

Reviews

Dion T.

31 Jan 2019

Excellent Service

Courtney H.

4 Oct 2018

The service was great up until the collection of the suits, with a hiccup at the pickup being the reason for a 4 out of 5. The incorrect order was assigned to us, and had to be redone at the time of collection which was a little stressful two days before the wedding.

Jeff And Lili C.

17 Mar 2018

Alex at the Armadale store was straight-to-the-point and very supportive. He knew what he was doing and made sure my groomsman (who arrived the day before the wedding) fitted in quickly and had priority alterations! Selection of suits is not that varied but materials and build are decent.

Chelsea W.

21 Dec 2017

Yvette and Lisa at the Knox store were amazing to deal with and made the process fun. They made great suggestions and steered us in the right direction to make each of the groomsman look their absolute best. Would not go anywhere else for future suit needs, fabulous service!

Amy P.

6 Dec 2017

These ladies are absolutely amazing. They take so much care and pride in what they do, and are just as excited for your day as you are! We were taken care of from the first initial enquiry, through to the drop off of the suits a few days later. My husband, groomsmen, Father of the Bride & Groom all looked schmick! Thank you so much for making this experience great for me and the guys!

Stephanie O.

30 Nov 2017

The boys looked fantastic and everything was included, down to the cufflinks.

Janette D.

30 Jun 2017

We wanted our best man to feel comfortable and happy with his suit. They did such a great job accommodating him and he was so happy.

Meagen S.

13 Apr 2017

First dress I tried on and it was the one. As my wedding was relaxed I wanted to be comfortable. The dress was simple with a small train and was exactly what I wanted.

Amanda S.

10 Mar 2017

My husband hired his bridal party suits for here and thank you to Yvette for her amazing customer service. Her attention to the finer details was wonderful. I, as the bride felt so at ease leaving it up to her to make sure the boys looked immaculate, which they most certainly did!!

Amanda S.

10 Mar 2017

Their team had my husband and his groomsmen looking impeccable from the suit itself to the smallest of details. They made me feel at ease that everything would be taken care of and it was! For anyone hiring suits would highly recommend! Thank you

Paul T.

3 Dec 2016

Hired suits and purchased the wedding dress from the. They were very helpful however slightly dis-organised. The wedding dress was lovely, picked something in the store which they altered.

Jessica T.

10 Nov 2016

Yvette and her team were amazing. Such great knowledge and so friendly! Would absolutely recommend Formalwear of Melbourne! Yvette and the girls went above and beyond for us, they have such a passion for what they do and it was very evident from day 1. The suits were amazing and I have had so many comments on their girls dresses. Everyone loved everything. It was all amazing. Thank you so much Yvette and team!! Daniel and Jessica-Kate Fordham.

Nicole S.

23 Sep 2016

We got all of the suits for the groomsmen and my dad here. They were so helpful and gave us professional advice on what to purchase. I would definitely go there again. They are located in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.

Liz M.

16 Sep 2016

Yvette at Formal Wear Of Melbourne (Wantirna South) could not have been more helpful. She is dedicated to ensuring that her customer's requirements are totally satisfied. Due to Yvette's friendly nature and professional approach we had a stress free experience. Highly recommended!

Natalie W.

16 Sep 2016

Yvette and the girls here were fantastic in helping the boys with their suits. Offering advice to get the perfect fit and chasing up any issues that happened. Lovely people to deal with!

Helen S.

9 Sep 2016

Fantastic people, really know their stuff and genuinely seem more keen to have the customer leave happy than try to upsell or get money out of you. Very happy.

Lauren M.

13 May 2016

Such a wonderful experience and my dress turned out perfect

Erin K.

13 May 2016

The ladies at Formal Wear in Wantirna were so lovely to work with, they helped us in and out of multiple dresses and colours until we found the perfect bridesmaids dresses. We ordered and received them within 1 week! The girls gave great advice and assistance and made te experience easy and fun.

Brad K.

24 Apr 2016

they were absolutely 10 out of 10 they went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect

Melissa H.

21 Apr 2016

My partner and I had a very short engagement (engaged Christmas Eve, married 22nd of April) so I presumed I would have to buy my wedding dress off the rack somewhere. Not so - I was able to have my dream dress custom made within 4 short weeks from Formal Wear of Melbourne in Wantirna. I cannot recommend Yvette highly enough! :-)

Kylie B.

2 Apr 2016

Excellent service. The lady there was really helpful and really lovely!

Chris And Janine F.

4 Mar 2016

Shop is a little cluttered, but the service and choices available are fantastic, the hired shirts although dry-cleaned were very dirty on the inside collar this could have been better.

Lauren B.

5 Feb 2016

With groomsmen and a groom not in the country until the week of the wedding, I was very worried about hiring suits. The company was so accommodating and handled the last minute fitting really efficiently. The suits are quite traditional which is what the groom was after.

Larissa D.

30 Jan 2016

It's very hard to find high quality nice suits that aren't the same as every other shop! Formal wear has the highest quality suits for hire, they're gorgeous and the owners are so professional, they are so much more personal and helpful than the other hire places, very highly recommend!

Sarah B.

8 Jan 2016

They were amazing!! Everything went well.

Lisa W.

8 Jan 2016

Yvette went out of her way to make sure that we were happy with the suits. There were lots of options to choose from, and she responded to queries really quickly (even at 6am! That's what I call good service)

Leah R.

11 Dec 2015

The team at this store are amazing!! Yvette in particular went out of her way to make sure bridesmaid’s dresses arrived in time and in between co-ordinating the fittings for 5 bridesmaids and 5 groomsmen, Yvette and her team were always supportive and professional. I have no hesitation recommending them!

Carrisa O.

11 Dec 2015

Gorgeous to deal with! Good price for hiring. There were 4 suits all up, including 2 kids suits which they make and we get to keep them.

Amali W.

7 Nov 2015

Very happy with their service.

Nicole D.

7 Nov 2015

Incredibly helpful and very attentive. Would highly recommend

Jamie B.

31 Oct 2015

Good service. Yvette looked after and she was absolutely fantastic!

Sarah E.

29 Oct 2015

Yvette at Formal wear of Melbourne is simply brilliant. She not only helped us purchase the perfect bridesmaid dresses that suited all the different body shapes perfectly but also helped us pick the perfect look for the guys. She is patient, caring and made the whole process so easy.

K G.

23 Oct 2015

Yvette was very helpful and had a great eye for detail. She helped our groomsmen all to look great in their hire suits. Cleaning costs were included in the original quote and it was very easy to organise.

K G.

23 Oct 2015

Yvette was very helpful and had a great eye for detail. She helped our groomsmen all to look great in their hire suits. Cleaning costs were included in the original quote and it was very easy to organise.

Matt & Stephanie A.

29 Aug 2015

They were good. I was happy with the suit.

Stephanie L.

25 Apr 2015

Bridesmaid dresses were amazing! Yvette did such a fantastic job organising the ordering and pick up of the dresses. Completely stress free and friendly.

Ginny H.

16 Jan 2015

We hired the groom's and father of the bride's suits for our wedding. Leigh and Annabel at Formal Wear Of Melbourne in Ashburton were extremely helpful and professional. The groom and father of the bride arrived in Melbourne only two day before the wedding. We took them into the store that morning and had the suits within a couple of hours. The suits were high quality made from good quality fabrics, and were tailored to fit. We had no idea it would be so easy to get the suits - the groom was pleased he only had to spend about 15 minutes in the store! We would highly recommend Formal Wear Of Melbourne.

Lauren T.

19 Dec 2014

Stuffed us around. Wouldn't recommend.

Stephanie F.

3 Dec 2014

The staff were lovely, not a great deal of high quality dresses, however they do make to order, but I don't think the lady measured me very well as I needed the dress taken in and up. I did not particularly like the lady that they sent me to for alterations either.

Katrina N.

31 Oct 2014

Great suits, really lovely, helpful people. Made everything easy for us to organise.

Lizzy T.

25 Oct 2014

Really helpful. We had to find a last minute bridesmaid dress and vest and this store was so helpful and had exactly what we were looking for. Very impressed

Janine F.

14 Sep 2014

Fantastic ladies to work with!! Original salesperson went on maternity leave, but Yvette took over with ease and helped me more than she knows!! Absolutely stunning dress even after the alterations :)

Nina B.

27 Apr 2014

good service.

Jayde W.

28 Feb 2014

Extremely terrible experience. Bridesmaid dresses were ordered by the store late and incorrect measurements given to dressmaker. We had to pay to fix their mistakes on $400 dresses as the store refused to take ownership! Will never return.

Nancy And Larry E.

24 Jan 2014

Lovely, friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble. Wedding party members from overseas were successfully fitted the day before the wedding.

Rebecca W.

23 Nov 2013

Attention to detail and quality of service is second to none. Not to mention a knowledgable and personable operator.

Amanda V.

5 Oct 2013

Suits looked great but staff was rude and the suits didn't fit properly so had to return the next day to pick up rest of the suits

Simon M.

8 Sep 2013

Suits were great, not so much the service. Would recommend you avoid the Ashburton store. In the end turned out ok although had a few problems along the way.

Gallant L.

7 Jul 2013

They had a great range, and offered honest advice. It was obvious that they were very experienced, and were well versed with sizing and fitment. I ended up purchasing a suit which fit perfectly.

Jeff P.

7 Apr 2013

Lovely suits and helpful staff.


Why enquire through Easy Weddings?

Exclusive deals

Get the best deals for your wedding with Easy Weddings only discounts and special offers.

Win a Maldives honeymoon

Simply let us know which Easy Weddings' suppliers you've booked. Once verified, you'll get entries into the draw for your chance to win!
* Competition Excludes ACT

Quick response

Your time is important. Get the information you need quickly. No fuss. No stress.