The Melbourne Zoo

Rating
1 5 4.8 (57 reviews) 
Location
Elliot Ave, Parkville, Victoria
Business Hours
By Appointment
Phone
03 9285 9440

Reviews

Jen W.

15 Sep 2018

What an amazing venue! It was such a unique experience - our guests really appreciated to wander around, particularly for our friends with kids. Taking photos with the animals was a great experience. Exhibit next to our room was a show-stealer! Food was great. The day ran smoothly.

Kathryn M.

21 Apr 2018

Melbourne Zoo provide a beautiful backdrop to any wedding and we loved that our guests could explore the Zoo while we were doing photos, as well as the opportunity to feed a giraffe as part of our photo tour. The food was great even though we couldn't pronounce half of it, and the service we had was wonderful, in particular, Jade who was our guide for our photo tour. The hickups we had across the day were minor and remedied quickly. We planned mostly via email which provided some obstacles and our coordinator put everything together for us.

Rebecca M.

4 Mar 2016

The Zoo was the perfect location for our wedding. The grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious and the staff were exceptionally helpful. The Zoo provides a wedding planner to assist with all the details - which made planning super easy! We also got some great pictures with the animals!

Emma H.

24 Feb 2019

LCC at the Melbourne Zoo prepared beautiful food for our wedding - we had plenty of comments about the quality and flavour, and their wedding coordinators went to great lengths to ensure the day went off without a hitch.

Emma H.

24 Feb 2019

A magical place to have your wedding. So many amazing photo opps, and beautiful function rooms. A definite must-see on your wedding venue tours.

Significantotter K.

15 Feb 2019

Wedding ceremony: Japanese Garden. Reception dinner: Rainforest Room. For 70 people, it was a very good fit and both locations are stunning. Great experience for the guests - after the wedding, the kids were super excited to tell us about a monkey running overhead during the vows! (We missed it, of course.) They also loved being able to walk around the zoo before the ceremony. Everyone we dealt with at the Zoo was extremely friendly - the event coordinator, function supervisor on the day, and the photo tour guide were lovely helpful people. One thing that could be improved is the Zoo's own documentation process - you are provided with a planner document to complete in Word, which the Zoo manually transforms into a final planner/runsheet/invoice. It's quite confusing to read and the process seems prone to error. Other than that, it was amazing!

Sam M.

9 Feb 2019

DIdn't know they had venues for weddings. Such a beautiful place with lots of picturesque spots to do bridal photoshoot. It's so landscaped that the backdrop is already done and you don't need to do much for decorations.

Naomi D.

14 Dec 2018

The zoo was an amazing backdrop for our wedding and fantastic for photographs. Staff on the day were very helpful. Recommend the cupcakes from the zoo bakery!

Samantha S.

20 Oct 2018

The Melbourne Zoo was an amazing venue with the most helpful and wonderful staff to work with. We had our ceremony in the Japanese gardens and it was an amazing space to have a small wedding in.

Amica A.

25 Aug 2018

The Melbourne Zoo was amazing with the most helpful and wonderful staff. We had our ceremony in the Japanese gardens. Every guest loves it.

Carly H.

12 May 2018

They gave us the cheapest quote by far and the cake was so delicious!

Carly H.

12 May 2018

Loved it! The service was great. Emma was really easy to talk and plan with before the day. On the day the girls were also really good. Food was amazing, wasn't expecting such large portions.

Emily B.

5 May 2018

Great venue, easy to work with. good communications from Emma the wedding planner. very helpful. The food was very average, and the vegetarian option was not what we had picked.

Bronwyn H.

13 Apr 2018

The lead up to the day was amazing and they were so helpful as we needed to postpone the initial wedding date. The food and service on the day was great! We had a great day.

Elizabeth B.

9 Mar 2018

The team at the Melbourne Zoo were just amazing, the venue was so unique, all our guests loved it.

Natasha B.

3 Mar 2018

Couldn't fault them, everything went smoothly!

Natalie S.

3 Nov 2017

Getting married at MelbZoo was a life long dream of ours. Our Wedding Co-Ordinator Emma was fantastic - from the beginning to the very end - even as I arrived to walk down the aisle she was there to ease my mind. Thanks to Emma and all the staff at Melb Zoo and Restaurant Associates for making our dreams come true! We feel so very blessed!

Kate W.

22 Sep 2017

Location was a great setting for our wedding. The animal experiences made for very unique wedding photos and set the scene for a fun and relaxed event. Having everything at one location was a bonus. The venue was everything we wanted: a garden wedding, central to CBD, and amongst nature.

Hollie S.

20 Apr 2017

Service was amazing. Food was delicious

The Melbourne Zoo  

It was a beautiful day Hollie, thank you for letting us share it with you!

Maddison T.

25 Nov 2016

Catherine at the Compass Group Melbourne zoo made sure our day ran smoothly and our ceremony and reception was as perfect as we had dreamed of. Catering was incredible and overall setting of the zoo was just perfect me and the hubby are just so so happy.

Adela K.

27 Aug 2016

When we found out that you can get married at the zoo we instantly locked it in. It is a very sentimental place for us and honestly it was the most amazing wedding! I could not recommend the zoo as a wedding venue any more highly!

Kathy G.

17 Jun 2016

The team at the Melbourne Zoo did a fantastic job - exactly what we wanted and perfect for our surprise wedding. We couldn't have asked for more.

Catherine Y.

1 Apr 2016

I wanted to get married at the zoo ever since I was a little girl. Now that my dreams have come true, I can tell you it was everything I could have wanted! The staff were so great and helpful, and to have such a unique location was incredible!

Justine S.

18 Mar 2016

Being An animal lover I couldn't have asked for a better location!! Amazing staff, great food and great service..huge thanks to Catherine grantee who was our wedding coordinator!! Amazing job!!

Michael B.

6 Feb 2016

I'd give them 6/5 stars! The food was fantastic, no complaints at all! The staff were great as well.

Joanne M.

16 Jan 2016

They were fantastic! The whole thing was great. We went to a wedding open day and we got the ceremony for free. We got photos in the butterfly house!

Tina & Shaun L.

15 Jan 2016

Perfect surroundings. We had our wedding in the Japanese Gardens. Staff so helpful in every way. We even got a guide after the ceremony to assist with photos. Fantastic Venue.

Naomi D.

29 Oct 2015

It was amazing!! We had a 3 course meal and we couldn't finish it, it was just so good.

Sarah S.

23 Oct 2015

The BEST location ever to get married. Ceremony outside on a lawn and the reception inside the Rainforest room. The wedding planner Vanessa provided at the zoo was so professional and helpful in organising everything there.

Zoe M.

19 Sep 2015

Very happy with their service.

Allison B.

23 Apr 2015

The staff at the zoo are fantastic, we had such a great day, everything was set up for us which took a lot of hassle out of the day, there was no shortage of food or drink, we were lucky with the weather so the photos are awesome, best day ever.

Zara S.

11 Apr 2015

Vanessa was brilliant - so much help and made everything super simple and easy. We held our ceremony only at the Zoo as the spaces were so beautiful, and at the price how could you not?! If I had have booked a botanical garden and hired the furniture it would have been about the same - only gardens don't give you the space exclusively, and don't give you someone to manage it. So booking the Zoo was a no brainer really! Not to mention the amount of people who when I said we were getting married at the Zoo who replied "the Zoo? Oh WOW!". My only issue was that as a nervous bride heading toward the ceremony there were a lot of kids around which I may have preferred not to have, but if you're not in a limo your car can drive you straight up to the ceremony site which in hindsite would have been better. That was me though, not the venue. Definitely recommended if you want to do something a little different, but still keep the ceremony sentimental and proper.

Andrew P.

21 Mar 2015

They were excellent!

Andrew P.

21 Mar 2015

They were excellent!

Alison W.

14 Mar 2015

the food was divine and all part of the Zoo package.

Rose S.

1 Mar 2015

They were perfect. Really good day!

Donna R.

28 Feb 2015

Perfect venue, beautiful, beautiful food. And of course, the animals make it a treat, and it's more affordable than Melbourne zoo.

Katrina N.

31 Oct 2014

The most amazing venue, our wedding was a beautiful fairytale thanks to the stunning grounds at the zoo. We are so pleased we chose this venue as it was everything we dreamt of plus more.

Lizzy T.

25 Oct 2014

Fantastic food and fantastic service. Our wedding day went so smoothly thanks to our caterers, they were professional, helpful, and went out of their way to make our day perfect

Lizzy T.

25 Oct 2014

Perfect venue! We had our ceremony in the butterfly-house and reception in the Rainforest room and both were absolutely perfect! The butterfly-house was amazing and our guests loved it because it was so unique. The Rainforest room is absolutely stunning, it really created the perfect atmosphere and the perfect day

Nicole L.

24 Oct 2014

Totally awesome experience and very different.

Janis H.

15 Aug 2014

We got married at the Zoo and the canapes and meals were way above my expectations. The food and service were impeccable and also very flexible around drinks options and catering for kids and people with allergies

Janis H.

15 Aug 2014

I cannot recommend the Zoo as a wedding venue highly enough. It was a late winter wedding and the japanese gardens looked amazing still and the rainforest room was the perfect location for our reception. Our day was incredible all aided by the wonderful team there and we just didnt want it to end

Danica V.

6 Apr 2014

Vanessa and Bec thank-you making our wedding day more beautiful than we could every imagine. Customer service, organisation, the beautiful Japanese Garden and Rainforest Reception Room. Everything was perfect. Special mention to Chris and Jan helping ensuring the photography, the food and the reception were run without a hitch. The zoo is such a magical place to celebrate the beginning of your new life with the love of your life.

Elicia S.

15 Mar 2014

The catering staff at Melbourne Zoo were amazing. The food was fantastic. On the day they were so helpful and took care of all our guests.

Sam H.

25 Oct 2013

A lovely venue, but I recommend having the wedding early in the day if you want photos with the animals.

Seleena F.

18 Oct 2013

We only had a ceremony for our wedding but I still now can't think of a better place to have had it, the day was perfect, catered to our small wedding needs and we got to do behind the scenes for some amazing photos! Highly recommend :)

Elif A.

7 Sep 2013

Liberty Catering at the Melbourne Zoo was amazing. Our personal co-ordinator Vanessa was on hand in the months leading up and on the day to help with all of our requests. She made sure the ceremony and reception was set out how we had imagined and we ran to schedule. The food was amazing and the guests loved it. The waiters and staff on the day were great and felt like family.

Joanne W.

27 Apr 2013

Great food and great services =)

Joanne W.

27 Apr 2013

Lovely venue, great services, and guests has great time!


Why enquire through Easy Weddings?

Exclusive deals

Get the best deals for your wedding with Easy Weddings only discounts and special offers.

Win $10,000

Simply let us know which Easy Weddings' suppliers you've booked. Once verified, you'll get entries into the draw for your chance to win!
* Competition Excludes ACT

Quick response

Your time is important. Get the information you need quickly. No fuss. No stress.