Wedding dates to avoid in 2019 and 2020

So, you’re trying to pin down a date for your wedding in 2019 or 2020. Here are some wedding dates in 2019 and 2020 to avoid if you’re looking to avoid conflict with national holidays and events in Australia.

Of course, these are just estimates for some dates (Austalia Day, for example. Stay tuned for official dates to be released in case of changes). And, of course this doesn’t mean you need to avoid these dates. We love a Christmas wedding or a NYE wedding, it just isn’t everyone’s taste.

Wedding dates to avoid in 2019 and 2020

Wedding dates to avoid in 2019 and 2020

National holidays (or majority) + other important dates:

  • New years day
    1 Jan 2019, Tuesday
    1 Jan 2020, Wednesday
  • Australia day
    26 Jan 2019, Saturday
    26 Jan, 2020, Sunday
  • Australia day public holiday
    28 Jan 2019, Monday
  • Chinese New Year
    5 Feb, 2019, Tuesday
    25 January, 2020, Saturday
  • Valentine’s Day
    14 Feb, 2019, Thursday
    14 Feb, 2020, Friday
  • Good Friday
    19 April 2019, Friday
    10 April, 2020, Friday
  • Day following Good Friday
    11 April, 2020, Saturday
  • Easter Sunday
    21 April 2019, Sunday
    12 April 2020, Sunday
  • Easter Monday
    22 April 2019, Monday
    13 April 2020, Monday
  • Anzac Day
    25 April, 2019, Thursday
    25 April, 2020, Saturday
  • Ramadan
    5 May – 4 June 2019
    23 April – 23 May 2020
  • Queen’s birthday
    10 Jun, 2019, Monday
    8 Jun, 2020, Monday
  • AFL grand final
    28 Sept, 2019, Saturday
  • Halloween
    31 Oct, 2019, Thursday
    31 Oct, 2020, Saturday
  • Christmas Day
    25 Dec, 2019, Wednesday
    25 Dec, 2020, Friday
  • Boxing Day
    26 Dec, 2019, Thursday
    26 Dec, 2020, Saturday
  • Boxing Day Holiday
    28 Dec, 2020

Wedding dates to avoid in 2019 and 2020

Other important dates to keep in mind are: immediate families birthdays, anniversaries, any religious holidays, and holidays your family may have planned. Of course, this list is specific to Australia and if you have international guests, you may want to consider their holidays too.


image

How long did you hire your videographer for?


Once you have an idea of dates you prefer, start looking for your perfect wedding venue. 

Find suppliers

80% of Australian couples use Easy Weddings to connect with their dream wedding suppliers.
Browse the directory and start planning today!

Comments